Home > Books > What is “ISTP”?

What is “ISTP”?

September 24, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

ISTP is one of the 16 personality types expounded by the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator, and it just so happens to be how I describe myself…mostly.

Here’s a quick overview of my personality type:

I – introversion: I tend to be quiet and reserved. I generally prefer interacting with a few close friends rather than a wide circle of acquaintances, and I expend energy in social situations (whereas extroverts gain energy).

S – I tend to be more concrete than abstract. I focus my attention on the details rather than the big picture, and on immediate realities rather than future possibilities.

T – I tend to rely on objective criteria rather than personal values. When making decisions, I generally give more weight to logic than to social considerations.

P – I tend to withhold judgment and delay important decisions, preferring to “keep my options open” should circumstances change.

The important thing to note, is that we are not forever locked into our personalities as they exist today. Actually, our personalities mostly remain the same, but as we age, we supposedly broaden and develop depth in certain areas of our personalities. This process is a little more difficult to comprehend because of the complexity in looking at specific functions within a personality type. But it really is interesting to look at.

I learned quite a bit about my personality type by reading Do What You Are: Discover the Perfect Career for You Through the Secrets of Personality Type, by Paul D. Tieger and Barbara Barron.

Wikipedia actually gives a fairly good account of my personality type. If you’re interested, take a look.

Categories: Books
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

