Home > Uncategorized > United Nations FINALLY Adopts a Resolution to Establish a New Entity Focused on the Rights of Women

United Nations FINALLY Adopts a Resolution to Establish a New Entity Focused on the Rights of Women

September 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

The General Assembly adopted a resolution late September 21, 2009, on improving system-wide coherence within the UN, and the text spells out the support of Member States for a new consolidated body – to be headed by an under-secretary-general – to deal with issues concerning women.

The resolution means the UN Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM), the UN Division for the Advancement of Women (DAW), the Office of the Special Adviser on Gender Issues (OSAGI) and the International Research and Training Institute for the Advancement of Women (INSTRAW) will be merged.

See this link for more information.

Oxfam’s response.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 30, 2009 at 22:57

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Fiona
    October 11, 2009 at 17:01

    Thanks so much!

  3. October 17, 2009 at 03:00

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

