Home > Food > My new favorite drink – coconut water

My new favorite drink – coconut water

September 30, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today I was at the Madison Market, looking for something yummy to imbibe and came across what quickly has become my new favorite drink: Vitacoco‘s coconut water with peach & mango. Now, coconut water hasn’t always been a favorite of mine, in fact, when I first tried it, I thought it was a bit bland. It’s much lighter than coconut milk, which is thicker and creamier than coconut water. For those of you who don’t know, coconut water comes from the young coconut before the coconut has had time to really develop its pulp. Coconut milk comes from a more mature coconut and is the mixture of coconut water and the pulp.

Coconut water is fast becoming a popular drink among healthy people. It has a high mineral content and electrolytes, such as potassium, magnesium, phosphorous, sodium and calcium so it is great as a sports drink. It is fat-free and also is very low in calories. As for taste, well, for those of us who are vegans, and therefore have a broader spectrum of flavor we can savor, coconut water is tasty and satisfying. If you’re not a vegan, think of it as a healthy alternative to Gatorade, or other such fake products. Coconut water is 100% natural, whereas Gatorade or almost any other similar sports drink isn’t.

For those of you who don’t know, Gatorade is a product of PepsiCo, which also makes Propel Water, which is a vitamin enhanced water that is artificially sweetened. Propel has the same electrolytes as Gatorade, along with some vitamins, which makes it similar to Vitamin Water, though Vitamin Water has substantial amounts of sugar.

I remember the one and only time I tried Propel Water. It was after a run I’d competed in with my friends in Colorado, probably back in 2001 or so, and at the end of the race, the organizers handed out Propel. It made me pretty sick, and I was a meat eater and everything back then. Nothing about Propel tasted real in my mind!

Let’s look at the ingredients to really get a comparison:

Vitacoco’s coconut water with peach and mango:

natural coconut water, mango puree, peach puree, and ascorbic acid (vitamin C)

Propel’s peach mango water:

water, maltodextrin, sugar, citric acid, natural flavor,sodium hexametaphosphate (to protect flavor), potassium sorbate (preserves freshness), sodium citrate, sucralose, acesulfame potassium, calcium disodium edta (to protect flavor).

Hmm, which one would I trust with my body? Which one would I put into my child’s body? No question, try the coconut water and give your body a natural boost!

Categories: Food
  1. Night Song
    October 11, 2009 at 13:16

    I’m looking forward to trying the mango coconut water!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

