Home > Family, Personal > The art of NOT being busy

The art of NOT being busy

December 17, 2014 Leave a comment Go to comments

I just read this blog about being busy and the impact it has on our lives and how the author hypothesizes that we have become “human doings” instead of “human beings”. It reminded me of how hard I tried, when my children were young, not to over-commit them to extracurricular activities. And, how I tried to make family time our main activity. This was helped by the fact that I didn’t have much money, so we couldn’t afford to do everything we might have wanted to anyway. Even then, though, I struggled with the amount of mail I had to deal with, the email, the social commitments and the chores that made up the our lives. Still, there seemed to be less of it than there is now.

Sometimes, when I look around today. I think that one of the key the signs of status is showing that you are busy (with activities). In other words, having the time and money to be activity-driven is a sign of status. Other times, I just think we are so afraid of stillness, contemplation, looking inward and finding our creative center that we fill our time so we don’t have to do that.

My kids are adults now, but I still fight that activity-driven life. I fight that urge to fill every moment with something. I like having the flexibility of spontaneously going for a walk, or how about taking a day off from checking my email…that’s fun too. Could any of us, in this era of cell phone driven communication, bear to put turn those phones off for a day that was completely unscheduled and unstructured? What would happen? What if we could do that for one day each week, just let the day evolve…and see what happens…it’s a novel idea and I’m not sure even I could do it. But I think we would all be better for it.

Categories: Family, Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

